FIFA Football Awards time: When and Where to watch Ronaldo on January 9

FIFA's Best Men's Player of The Year

The moment football fans have been waiting for is here as the balls have been set rolling for FIFA’s Best Players to be honored on Monday, January 9th.

The inaugural edition of the event, after FIFA’s breakup from the merge with France Football Magazine’s Ballon d’Or, is set to take place at the TPC Studios in Swiss capital Zurich. The exclusive event is by invitation only.

How to watch the FIFA Football Awards live

Cristiano Ronaldo fans from across the globe can follow the pre-ceremony Green Carpet and also see their favorite player being honored at the main event via streams on FIFA TV on Youtube. Another option is to follow the live blog on Hashtag “#The Best” can be used to join in the debate and discussions around the awards on various social media platforms.

Real Madrid TV will also telecast the ceremony as club forward Cristiano Ronaldo and coach Zinedine Zidane are shortlisted by FIFA to potentially receive the Best FIFA Men’s Player and Best FIFA Men’s Coach awards respectively.

A host of TV channels will broadcast the FIFA Football Awards gala live. View the listings for the following selected countries, courtesy of

  • USA at 9:30am PT/12:30pm ET: Telemundo, NBC UNIVERSOEurosport Portugal
  • Portugal at 5:30pm WET: Eurosport PortugalMovistar+, Gol, Eurosport Spain, beIN Sports Connect España, Esport3, beIN LaLiga, beIN Sports Spain, TDP
  • Spain at 6:30pm CET: Movistar+, Gol, Eurosport Spain, beIN Sports Connect España, Esport3, beIN LaLiga, beIN Sports Spain, TDPSuperSport 3 Africa
  • Ghana (5:30pm GMT) and Nigeria (6:30pm WAT): SuperSport 3 Africa

According to information from MARCA, CR7 is set to add FIFA’s newly designed platinum-coated trophy to last month’s Ballon d’Or triumph in acknowledgment of an incredible 2016.

Reports in Spain suggest that Real Madrid club President Florentino Perez is traveling with the duo to attend the awards ceremony in Zurich. In contrast, Barcelona’s manager and players have skipped the FIFA Football awards as they prefer to focus on their comeback mission against Athletic Bilbao in the Copa del Rey Last 16.

What is the event lineup?

  • 16:30-17:30 CET- Arrival of Players and VIPs 

Players and their spouses, celebrities alongside invited personalities in showbiz will arrive in their glamorous apparel to meet and greet fans, give interviews and make their way into the studios for the commencement of the main event.

The legendary Diego Maradona, The Best FIFA Women’s Player nominees Melanie Behringer of Germany and USA’s Carli Lloyd, The Best FIFA Women’s Coach nominee Jill Ellis of the US Women’s National team, and The Best FIFA Men’s Coach nominees Fernando Santos and Claudio Ranieri among others, have already arrived at the Kameha Zurich Hotel ahead of the event. More big names are en-route to the Swiss capital.

  • 18:30-20:00 CET- TV Show and Main Event 

This includes the build-up to the awards ceremony, interviews with players (past and present), photo-shoots as well as the main event of the day. Telenovela star Eva Longoria and German television and radio personality Marco Scheryl are the hosts for the night.

  • 20:15-20:45 CET Post-awards Interview

The event will be concluded with post-awards reactions from nominees, award-winners and attending delegations.

What are the awards to be presented?

The main award of the night will, without doubt, be the Best FIFA Men’s Player award which features the likes Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann. Below is the full list of the categories and the nominees:

  • The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award nominees: Cristiano Ronaldo, Antoine Griezmann and Lionel Messi
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player Award nominees: Melanie Behringer, Carli Lloyd and Marta
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Coach Award nominees: Claudio Ranieri, Fernando Santos and Zinedine Zidane
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Coach Award nominees: Jill Ellis, Silvia Neid and Pia Sundhage
  • The FIFA Puskás Award 2016 nominees: Marlone, Daniuska Rodriguez and Mohd Faiz Subri
  • The FIFA Fair Play Award: TBA
  • The FIFA Fan Award nominees: ADO Den Haag supporters, Borussia Dortmund-Liverpool supporters and Iceland supporters

May the best win!