La Liga officiating in matches involving Real Madrid is questionable, to say the least…
The incident happened inside the 77th minute of the match as the visitors held a 2-1 lead over hosts Osasuna. At that point, the game could have gone either way. Aiming to keep his side’s chances alive, David Garcia stretched his right arm and wrapped it around an on-rushing Cristiano Ronaldo in the box.
The tackle did not appear to be that harsh but there was clear contact as the picture below reveals:
Reactions on Twitter:
Ronaldo can’t believe that’s not a penalty… Osasuna defender cant believe the audacity of the dive… both have a case says replay…
— Dermot Corrigan (@dermotmcorrigan) February 11, 2017
“That kinda looks like a penalty” – my dad until he realized it was Ronaldo. “Oh nvm, he just let himself fall over.” – after he realized 🙄
— Eira Castillo (@whateirasays) February 11, 2017
Clear penalty not given for Ronaldo, but the league is being set up for Real Madrid right?
— Isco Disco (@MadridistaFacts) February 11, 2017
A penalty might have seen Ronaldo hit a brace, following his opening goal in the 24th minute which took him to 14 league goals behind topscorer Luis Suarez (18) and second-placed Lionel Messi (17). Either way, Lucas Vazquez banged in Real Madrid’s third of the night in injury time, ending any doubt of a draw.
GGOOOOAALL! Lucas Vazquez. 93'
— CRonaldoDaily.com (@BreatheRonaldo) February 11, 2017
Real Madrid possess two games in hand against Valencia and Celta Vigo. Should they win both, they’ll open a seven-point lead atop the Spanish Primera Division table.
So far, they’ve collected 49 points from a possible 60. Barcelona are second with 48 points from 22 games. Sevilla seat in third position with a game and five points less than the Blaugrana.
2017 could very well be the year for Los Blancos to lift their second league title in 10 years. Are referees looking to complicate the team’s fight?