Watch Ronaldo in Real Madrid vs Espanyol on Feb 18

0
When to watch Real Madrid v Espanyol - Feb 18, 2017. Cristiano Ronaldo, Gareth Bale, Nacho, Alvaro Morata, Real Madrid logo, Espanyol logo

Los Merengues continue their quest of lifting La Liga title as they host Espanyol at the Santiago Bernabeu on Saturday.

Espanyol have lost two of their last three away matches in La Liga. After going down 4-1 to Barcelona at the Camp Nou and 2-1 to Valencia at the Mestalla, the Catalan-based club should be weary of the mighty Santiago Bernabeu stadium.

Streaming options: where to watch Real Madrid vs Espanyol

Watch Cristiano Ronaldo live in action on Saturday, February 18, 2017. The official live listings of selected countries below for Real Madrid vs Espanyol are courtesy of LiveSoccerTV.com. Listed by country, alphabetically:

  • Ghana at 3:15 pm UTC on SuperSport 7, SuperSport 12 and Canal Plus Sport
  • India at 8:45 pm IST on Sony Six SD
  • Nigeria at 4:15 pm WAT on SuperSport 7, SuperSport 12 and Canal+ Sport 2 Afrique
  • Portugal at 3:15 pm WET on Sport TV2
  • Spain at 4:14 pm CET on beIN Sports Connect España and beIN LaLiga
  • UK at 3:15 pm GMT but not available due to FA Cup coverage
  • USA at 7:15 am PT/10:15 am ET on beIN SPORTS CONNECT U.S.A., beIN SPORTS en Español, beIN SPORTS USA and fuboTV

Match preview

The league leaders, with two games in hand, are just a point ahead of rivals Barcelona. The Catalunya club may be turning its attention to the domestic league as elimination in the Champions League beckons, after the 4:0 humiliation by PSG on Tuesday. Zidane and his men being aware of this motive will thread cautiously, not allowing any room for complacency.

Following a successful comeback win over Napoli in midweek, Los Blancos currently possess the right mentality to ensure victory on Saturday. Moreover, the possible return of Gareth Bale to the side will be a huge boost for the 11-time European champions. Although the forward’s injury meagerly affected Madrid who enjoyed a lengthy unbeaten streak in his absence, one player who particularly missed the services of the Welshman is Cristiano Ronaldo.

The ‘BBC’ trio is noted for mostly scoring and chalking up assists in turns for each other. However, Bale’s prolonged absence saw Ronaldo and Benzema carry that whole responsibility and more often than not, be subjected to jeers and boos when they fail to be productive.

Yet, Ronaldo’s tally cannot be written off as he currently sits third with his 14 goals in the Pichichi race this season. Perhaps, Bale could bump up the Portuguese’s numbers by beating players with his pace and serving up assists for Real Madrid’s all-time goalscorer.

Cristiano Ronaldo
Ronaldo is still in the Pichichi race as he sits third with 14 goals

And per statistics, Saturday’s opponents may present the right test as they have already been on the receiving end of 15 Ronaldo goals. They are no new adversaries for the Merengues. Conventionally, Los Pericos have caused little or no problems for the league leaders in the past encounters. And it is quite interesting that the last time Espanyol managed a win at the Bernabeu was way back in 1996. This is a fixture Real Madrid have absolutely dominated as the Spanish capital club has won each of the last nine matches against the Catalans in all competitions.

And it is quite interesting that the last time Espanyol managed a win at the Bernabeu was way back in 1996. This is a fixture Real Madrid have absolutely dominated as the Spanish capital club has won each of the last nine matches against the Catalans in all competitions.

Those majorly comprise of some rather humiliating scorelines, which includes last season’s 6:0 back-to-back wins for Los Blancos. Cristiano Ronaldo scored eight of the total 12 goals. During those nine meetings, the Madrid outfits have registered 27 goals and conceded just twice.

However, it is noteworthy that Quique Flores’ side has won four games on the road this season. Still, any possibility of the visitors picking up points at the Bernabeu will be tremendously shocking.

La Liga top 10 ahead of week 23

SHARE
Previous articleCristiano Ronaldo ranks 7th in fastest players list
Next articleRonaldo nominated for Portugal’s Quinas de Ouro award

Emmanuel is a very vibrant writer from Ghana. Young but not small. Humble but full of hunger to learn and confidence to achieve greater heights in the world of online journalism.

Emmanuel is passionate about the Beautiful Game with special love for English giants Manchester United and their former number 7 icon, Cristiano Ronaldo.

In his leisure time, he loves writing and reading practically anything; old notes, e-books, articles… you name it! The Accra native and devoted Christian also loves drawing, swimming, watching and playing football both on the field and via FIFA video games. At times, Emmanuel loves to find himself alone at the beach and in nature.

LEAVE A REPLY