The Portuguese forward was denied three potential result-changing penalties in games against Valencia, Espanyol, and Osasuna.
If one is quite familiar with the application of 17th-century scientist Isaac Newton’s first law of motion, this will not be a debate at all. In his proven hypothesis Newton stated that a body will stay at rest or be in constant motion unless acted upon by an unbalanced force. And such has been the case with Ronaldo is three subsequent games for Los Blancos.
In just about nine minutes into the second half against Valencia, Ronaldo was tangled inside the 18-yard box by Eliaquim Mangala. The Real Madrid forward’s motion was halted as a result of the clumsy tackle by the defender, but the referee’s verdict? no penalty!
Ronaldo down under Mangala’s challenge but nothing given. Valencia penned in currently #ValenciaRealMadrid
— I (@Ghedin1878) February 22, 2017
What about ronaldo’s penalty. Aslan Valencia could have easily seen 2 red cards on Zaza and
Mangala but ☹
— R3edAlrashid (@R3ed_0) February 22, 2017
Then there was the Espanyol incident where the 32-year-old ace had another genuine penalty call waived. Real Madrid had taken a 2:0 lead through Alvaro Morata and substitute Gareth Bale.
In what seemed to be the last action of the game, Cristiano Ronaldo was once again wrestled to the ground. With the eyes of an anguished Ronaldo fixed on referee Undiano, the latter briefly contemplated the foul and instead awarded the Catalans with an offside call. Once again, the iconic number 7 was denied the opportunity to potentially increase his tally for the season from the spot.
Ronaldo must be a target for referees,this refs always making the wrong decisions.Clear penalty against Osasuna and now against Espanyol.SMH
— Josh Rossi (@Juicyrossi) February 18, 2017
Finally, we make a short stop at Osasuna’s home grounds Estadio El Sadar, where another officiating decision denied the four-time Ballon d’Or winner a brace.
Osasuna player David Garcia impeded the Real Madrid winger’s movement by wrapping his arms around the forward who was clear on goal. Replays from direct angles showed clear contact between the defender and the ex-Manchester United player but the referee thought otherwise.
Watch the incident here:
Clear penalty not given for Ronaldo, but the league is being set up for Real Madrid right?
— Isco Disco (@MadridistaFacts) February 11, 2017
@originalAZee you’re kidding?? Mangala clearly made contact when Ronaldo was charging through the box, watch the game dude..
— Javier (@Javii_Cr7) February 22, 2017
No penalty ffs refs refuse to give a pen when ronaldo is involved. Disgusting
— Zeus (@KeylorinhoZ) February 18, 2017
For Ronaldo no penalty calls, but if it was Messi… penalty right away ??
— ♛Mαяℓøη Aи∂яεѕ♛ (@Andres_o97) February 11, 2017
Indeed, Madridistas definitely have a point if they react when such decisions go against their club. Its incursions may not be evident at the moment but the likelihood of such calls deciding their fate in the league title race is quite high.
Real Madrid is atop the league with just a point ahead of rivals Barcelona. Although they still have a game in hand, these penalty calls would have altered results and, probably, placed them in a more comfortable position. The sooner officials get it right, the better.