Watch Ronaldo live in Portugal vs Sweden on March 28

0
Portugal vs Sweden friendly match

Fernando Santos’s men will host Sweden in Ronaldo’s home island of Madeira on Tuesday, March 28, 2017.

There is no way you would want to miss this historic friendly match as a true Cristiano Ronaldo fan. Portugal vs Sweden marks the first time ever that the Funchal-born legend plays in front of the people who carried him all the way to worldwide superstardom.

Streaming option: Where to watch Portugal vs Sweden

Watch Cristiano Ronaldo live in action on Tuesday, March 28, 2017. The official live listings of selected countries below for Portugal vs Sweden are courtesy of LiveSoccerTV.com. Listed by country, alphabetically:

  • Ghana at 6:45 PM UTC on [Not available]
  • India at 00:15 AM IST (March 29) on [Not available]
  • Nigeria at 7:45 PM WAT on [Not available]
  • Portugal at 7:45 PM WET on TVI
  • Spain at 8:45 PM CET on [Not available]
  • UK at 7:45 PM BST on [Not available]
  • USA at 11:45 AM PT/2:45 PM ET on fuboTV and beIN SPORTS CONNECT U.S.A.

If Portugal vs Sweden is not available in your area, worry not! Just follow us on Twitter @BreatheRonaldo for live commentary!

Match preview

Home is indeed where the heart is, and for Cristiano Ronaldo the upcoming encounter is a special one as far as his national team career is concerned. The 32-year-old showed his importance to the Seleccao once again by scoring a brace in his side’s 3:0 victory over Hungary last Saturday.

The two goals took his total tally for Portugal to 70, placing him just a goal behind Miroslav Klose who is currently third on the list of European players with the most international goals (71). Despite the upcoming fixture being a friendly, the current Ballon d’Or holder will be looking to bolster his impressive goalscoring record whiles the natives of his hometown cheer him on.

Portugal is currently on a fine run of form and has, as a result, been rewarded with the eighth position on the latest FIFA rankings. The momentum is currently with the Euro 2016 winners, who briefly suffered a hangover by losing to Switzerland in the first Group B game of the UEFA World Cup qualifiers.

Since then, the Ronaldo-inspired side has won four matches on the trot, recording some colossal scorelines against the likes of Andorra, Faroe Islands, Latvia, and Hungary. The Real Madrid talisman has registered nine goals in just four appearances in the campaign thus far. His nation’s ascendancy compliments the second position they currently occupy on the Road to Russia 2018.

The Seleccao is expected to carry on the charge by seeing off Sweden come Tuesday in Ronaldo’s hometown, Funchal. On paper, the hosts are the clear favorites in the contest. Interestingly, the last time Portugal lost a game to the Swedes dates as far back as 1984. Following that defeat, Portugal have won four and drawn five of the nine matches played across all competitions.

However, the current Swedish team are no mugs as far as the build-up to this friendly clash is concerned. The Scandinavian outfits put four past Belarus on Saturday to stay three points behind leaders France in the UEFA World Cup qualifying’s Group A.

The last time Portugal met Sweden was in a playoff back in November 2013. A Cristiano Ronaldo hat-trick ensured that his country qualified for a fourth straight World Cup finals in the thrilling game that ended 3:2. Can Saturday’s visitors crash Cristiano Ronaldo’s homecoming party as payback?

SHARE
Previous articleWhy a young Ronaldo couldn’t play in Madeira
Next articleFIFA president picks Ronaldo over Messi
Emmanuel is a very vibrant writer from Ghana. Young but not small. Humble but full of hunger to learn and confidence to achieve greater heights in the world of online journalism. Emmanuel is passionate about the Beautiful Game with special love for English giants Manchester United and their former number 7 icon, Cristiano Ronaldo. In his leisure time, he loves writing and reading practically anything; old notes, e-books, articles... you name it! The Accra native and devoted Christian also loves drawing, swimming, watching and playing football both on the field and via FIFA video games. At times, Emmanuel loves to find himself alone at the beach and in nature.

LEAVE A REPLY

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.