Watch Ronaldo live in Real Madrid vs Atletico Madrid on May 2

0
Real Madrid vs Atletico Madrid Champions League semifinal Match Preview

The two Spanish giants are set for a tantalizing showdown in the first of the Champions League semifinal tie. 

The boys have been separated from the men and the road leading to Cardiff has become narrower than ever. Last year’s finalists will battle each other for one of the two tickets reserved for clubs ahead of this season’s UEFA Champions League final.

Streaming options: Where to watch Real Madrid vs Atletico 

Watch Cristiano Ronaldo live in action on Tuesday, May 2, 2017. The official live listings of selected countries below for Real Madrid vs Atletico Madrid in the UEFA Champions League semi-finals are courtesy of LiveSoccerTV.com. Listed by country, alphabetically:

  • Ghana at 6:45 PM UTC on Canal+ Sport 1 Afrique, SuperSport 3 Africa
  • India at 00:15 AM IST on TEN 3
  • Nigeria at 7:45 PM WAT on SuperSport 3 Africa, SuperSport 3 Nigeria, Canal+ Sport 1 Afrique
  • Portugal at 7:45 PM WET on RTP 1, Sport TV1
  • Spain at 8:45 PM CET on Antena 3, TV3
  • UK at 7:45 PM BST on BT Sport Live Streaming, BT Sport 2
  • USA at 11:45 AM PT/2:45 PM ET on FOX Deportes, Fox Soccer 2GO USA, fuboTV, Fox Sports GO, Fox Sports 1 USA, ESPN Deportes Radio

Match preview

Zinedine Zidane’s side will come face-to-face with Diego Simeone’s men for the third time this season. In the two prior encounters, Los Blancos are unbeaten against the Colchoneros. The Whites drew 1:1 with their cross-town rivals in last month’s El Derbi Madrileno at the Santiago Bernabeu.

However, the fixture in the first round produced a different outcome altogether with Cristiano Ronaldo netting a hat-trick to sink the red and white ship at Vicente Calderon. The 32-year-old forward is yet to extend the miseries he’s inflicted on Atletico Madrid into the Champions League despite helping Real Madrid to snatch two Champions League trophies from under their noses.

Regardless of his 18 goals against Atletico, the veteran striker is yet to score a goal from open play against his neighbors in the Champions League. The former Manchester United winger’s only goal against Simeone’s side came from the penalty spot in his team’s triumph in the 2014 final. He also scored the winning penalty in Real’s win at the San Siro in last season’s campaign.

Nonetheless, Cristiano Ronaldo has once again been endowed the opportunity to do due diligence in the upcoming fixture. This should be an easy challenge for a player who boasts 10 semi-final goals in the UEFA Champions League, a fate not achieved by any other player in the history of the competition. Interestingly, the four-time Ballon d’Or winner has amassed the same number of goals in his Champions League career (100) as Atletico Madrid’s total tally in the competition (100).

Going into the game, Diego Simeone and his band will be looking to avenge the defeats suffered in Real Madrid’s La Decima and La Undecima winning seasons. But with the objective of winning the Champions League back-to-back for the first time in the European competition’s history looking achievable, Real Madrid will certainly be up for the fight.

SHARE
Previous articleRonaldo to get 20th La Liga goal against Valencia?
Next articleFormer Atletico Madrid star hails Ronaldo ahead of UCL clash
Emmanuel is a very vibrant writer from Ghana. Young but not small. Humble but full of hunger to learn and confidence to achieve greater heights in the world of online journalism. Emmanuel is passionate about the Beautiful Game with special love for English giants Manchester United and their former number 7 icon, Cristiano Ronaldo. In his leisure time, he loves writing and reading practically anything; old notes, e-books, articles... you name it! The Accra native and devoted Christian also loves drawing, swimming, watching and playing football both on the field and via FIFA video games. At times, Emmanuel loves to find himself alone at the beach and in nature.

LEAVE A REPLY

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.