Spanish Super Cup: Dates confirmed, Ronaldo to miss 1st leg?

0

Kick-off times for both legs of the 2017 Spanish Super Cup finale between Real Madrid and Barcelona have been officially confirmed. 

The little controversy surrounding the actual dates which some quoted to be August 12 and August 15, has finally been put to bed. According to the official La Liga website who released the list of fixtures for Matchday 1 on Thursday, the first leg of the cup game is scheduled for Sunday, August 13 at the Camp Nou.

Three days later, Barcelona will be hosted by Real Madrid at the Estadio Santiago Bernabeu. The kick-off time for the respective games is 22:00 hours CEST (20:00 GMT) and 23:00 hours CEST (21:00 GMT). The kick-off time in the second-leg was adjusted to prevent collisions with the UEFA Champions League playoffs games listed for the same date.

Dates confirmed for Spanish Super Cu[
Image Credit: La Liga
The match will be Barcelona’s first competitive game of the season. Real Madrid, on the other hand, would have known their fate against Manchester United in the UEFA Super Cup due on August 8 at the Philip II Arena in Macedonia.

Los Blancos manager, Zinedine Zidane, has already confirmed that Cristiano Ronaldo will be absent from the aforesaid encounter. The Portuguese striker is expected to join the European champions on the 5th of August; three days prior to the game.

Furthermore, he will probably need a week or two to catch up to steam as the rest of his teammates after being given an extended time off in the preseason. This, as a result, puts his participation in the first-leg of the Super Cup in doubt.

But hey, this is Ronaldo. He might even return when we least expect him to!

Ronaldo and Messi in El Clasico
Ronaldo remains a doubt for El Clasico Miami and the first-leg of the Spanish Super Cup.

 

LEAVE A REPLY

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.