2017 Trofeo Santiago Bernabeu: time, date, Ronaldo facts

0
Real Madrid's Ronaldo tackling Fiorentina player with a mask
(Image credit: Getty Images)

60 years after the 1957 European Cup final, Los Blancos have the chance for further glory against La Viola.

The Trofeo Santiago Bernabeu has been a customary activity for Real Madrid every season. The one-off fixture has been an exciting season opener for the Madrid based club since its inception in 1979. Despite being used as an honorary game for long serving president, Santiago Bernabeu, it is also observed as a perfect chance to outdoor new players and trophies won in the previous season.

In 2009, top signing Cristiano Ronaldo played his first cup game against Norwegian side Rosenborg along with new guys, Kaka and Karim Benzema.

And for the 2017/18 campaign, Fiorentina are the Whites’ opponents. The Italian Serie A outfits were opted for by the team’s hierarchy in a plan to commemorate the European Cup final played between the two teams 60 years ago.

The 2016 edition of the Trofeo Santiago Bernabeu was based on a similar theme; precisely, Real Madrid decided to have a remake of the 1956 European Cup final which was against Stade de Reims. Back then, the Spanish giants claimed a 4-3 win over their French counterparts in Paris. Real Madrid emulated that feat by destroying the six-time Ligue 1 champions 5-3 in the Spanish capital.

In similar fashion, the twelve-time European champions will face Fiorentina who also suffered a 2-0 defeat in the 1957 European Cup final. Goals from Paco Gento and Alfredo di Stefano were enough to gift Los Blancos the title at the Estadio Santiago Bernabeu.

Los Merengues will play on August 23 – three days following their first league fixture against Deportivo La Coruna after earlier facing Manchester United and Barcelona in the UEFA Super Cup and Spanish Super Cup respectively. The European champions have been dominant in their mini tournament despite losing on nine occasions. Their recent loss was against Mexican side, Pumas de la UNAM in 2004. A win against Fiorentina would mean “Trofeo 27” is sealed!

With star man Cristiano Ronaldo reported to join his teammates ahead of the UEFA Super Cup game against Manchester United, head coach Zinedine Zidane might include him in the squad to face La Viola. The Real Madrid forward has had less game time in previous Trofeo Santiago Bernabeu matches but could be offered more minutes due to his long holidays. And that, of course, will be an excellent manner of uplifting his fitness in line with his well-conditioned teammates.

Adored for his spectacular goalscoring prowess, it’s astonishing to know the super star has no goals yet in the annual fixture although being a member in four previous wins.

2017 Trofeo Santiago Bernabeu time and date around the world

Real Madrid vs Fiorentina will be played at 22.45 CET on Wednesday, August 23, 2017. For Ronaldo fans in the United States and around the globe, do have a look at the kick-off times in various zones.

*Listed in alphabetical order.

  • Australia (Sydney): 6:45 AM AEST on Thursday, August 24, 2017
  • Brazil (Brasilia): 5:45 PM BRT
  • China (Beijing): 4:45 AM CST on Thursday, August 24, 2017
  • United Kingdom (London): 9:45 PM BST
  • United States: 1:45 PM PDT/4:45 PM EDT

SHARE
Previous articleRonaldo’s FIFA 18 FUT ratings leaked
Next articleRonaldo begins his preseason training
Ivan is a young Ghanaian football journalist. He is a staunch fan of Real Madrid C.F. and sports in general. He discovered his unique admiration of Cristiano Ronaldo during the player's early days at Manchester United. Ivan was captured by the skill and personality of the then young Portuguese lad who showed so much confidence at such a big club. He is also a big fan of Cristiano's antics both on and off the pitch as controversies make this player what he truly is. Ivan usually spends his leisure time reading, watching sports documentaries and ancient story movies. He describes himself as a person who is always ready to learn at any opportunity and likes to have fun as well.

LEAVE A REPLY

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.