Cristiano emphatically wins 2017 UEFA Best Player poll

0
Cristiano Ronaldo leads Messi and Buffon in UEFA Men's Player of the year poll.

Cristiano Ronaldo is the fans’ favourite in UEFA’s Twitter poll for the Best Player of the Year award that will be announced on Thursday.

With the survey expected to end hours to the event, the 32-year-old winger precedes rival Lionel Messi and Gianluigi Buffon. CR7’s remarkable 2016/17 season features the UEFA Champions League and Spanish Primera Division titles.

Interestingly, the two gongs were each claimed in a direct competition with the two opponents. Lionel Messi and his team Barcelona were second best in the league title chase to Ronaldo’s Real Madrid and a Buffon led Juventus suffered a 4-1 thumping to Los Merengues in the UCL final.

Adding to his achievements, the number 7 man eventually netted 12 times to scoop the 2016/17 UCL top scorer from Messi who led with 11 goals. For Buffon, conceding two goals from CR7 in the last Champions League game raises doubts on his chances for the crown.

The count on Twitter allows fans to share their thoughts on who deserves the crown. Check out tweets from Cristiano fans ahead of the awards:

The event will be held at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco at 9am PDT/ 12pm EDT/ 4pm GMT/6pm CET. Let’s wish the boss luck!

LEAVE A REPLY

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.