Ronaldo vs Barcelona: Date of last Clasico in 2017 set

0
Cristiano Ronaldo in action vs Barcelona
(Image credit; Squawka)

Cristiano Ronaldo’s Real Madrid will welcome Barcelona on December 23 for the first El Clasico of the 2017/18 season.

Spanish league boss Javier Tebas confirmed on El Transistor. The game was earlier scheduled for Wednesday, December 20 but Los Blancos will play the FIFA Club World Cup in the United Arab Emirates the previous week. Therefore, the European champions will have a rest period after the tourney in Asia.

“The first Barcelona-Madrid game will be played on Saturday, December 23 at 1:00PM CET. The only thing that has to be explained is that Mediapro’s offer was the best that came to La Liga,” Tebas said.

Cristiano will hope to have one more win over his side’s fierce rivals. The 32-year-old winger was influential as the Spanish champions had a 3-1 victory against Barca in the first leg of the 2017 Supercopa de Espana final.

Meanwhile, the dramatic incidents that unfolded in the Camp Nou hosted game are still fresh in the minds of CR7 fans and of course, Real Madrid supporters. The superstar scored the Whites’ second goal and was later sent off by referee Ricardo de Burgos for alleged diving. What else? The number 7 man received a domestic five-match ban for slightly shoving the match official.

Cristiano Ronaldo showes disappointment on red card decision.
(Image credit: AFP)

Ronaldo is expected to feature in Los Merengues’ first Champions League game for the season as they face visitors APOEL Nicosia at the Santiago Bernabeu. However, Ronaldo will make his comeback in La Liga on September 20 against Real Betis at home. With the encounter in mind, he will have enough fixtures to shape up for the crucial fixture against the Catalans.

EL CLASICO TIME ZONES AROUND THE GLOBE

Australia – 11:00 PM (AEST)

Brazil – 10:00 AM (BRT)

China – 8:00 PM (CST)

United Kingdom – 12:00 PM (BST)

United States – 4:00 AM (PDT) / 7:00 AM (EDT)

SHARE
Previous articleHow will Ronaldo fare in the 2017/18 UCL campaign?
Next articleArbeloa reiterates Ronaldo importance in Real Madrid setup
Ivan is a young Ghanaian football journalist. He is a staunch fan of Real Madrid C.F. and sports in general. He discovered his unique admiration of Cristiano Ronaldo during the player's early days at Manchester United. Ivan was captured by the skill and personality of the then young Portuguese lad who showed so much confidence at such a big club. He is also a big fan of Cristiano's antics both on and off the pitch as controversies make this player what he truly is. Ivan usually spends his leisure time reading, watching sports documentaries and ancient story movies. He describes himself as a person who is always ready to learn at any opportunity and likes to have fun as well.

LEAVE A REPLY

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.