The 32-year-old winger connected well to a Gareth Bale cross with Los Blancos leading 1-0.
After giving his side the lead in the first half, the Real Madrid talisman was on the verge of recording his second goal of the night on the 47th minute. The forward’s strike that grazed the crossbar landed on the goal line and thereby raised quick thoughts among Los Merengues players that it was a right goal.
However, referee Benoit Bastien rapidly reacted and disallowed the striker’s target. According to the French match official, his watch never buzzed.
Per goal-line technology rules, the full circumference of the ball must cross the line before a goal could be awarded. Great decision by referee Benoit!