Watch Cristiano Ronaldo live in Dortmund vs Real Madrid on Sept 26

0
Borussia Dortmund vs Real Madrid on September 26

Real Madrid will renew its Champions League rivalry with Borussia Dortmund when they travel to the Signal Iduna Park on Tuesday. 

Both clubs have encountered each other eight times in the last five years; with the Germans narrowly edging Los Blancos in terms of victories recorded (W3 D3 L2). The last clash between the pair, which was coincidentally a group game, ended in a draw at the Santiago Bernabeu.

There, the 2:2 outcome at the end of what was the last group game ensured that the Yellow and Black outfits progressed to the Round of 16 above Los Blancos as group winners.

STREAMING OPTIONS: WHERE TO WATCH BORUSSIA DORTMUND VS REAL MADRID

Watch Cristiano Ronaldo live in action on Tuesday, September 26, 2017. The official live listings of selected countries below for Borussia Dortmund vs Real Madrid are listed by country, alphabetically:

  • Canada at 2:45 PM ET on beIN Sports Canada, fuboTV Canada, beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada
  • Ghana at 6:45 PM UTC on Canal+ Sport 1 Afrique, SuperSport 5 Africa
  • India at 00:15 AM IST on SONY TEN 2 HD, Sony LIV, SONY TEN 2
  • Nigeria at 7:45 PM WAT on SuperSport 5 Nigeria, Canal+ Sport 1 Afrique, SuperSport 5 Africa
  • Portugal at 7:45 PM WET on RTP 1, Sport TV2
  • Spain at 8:45 PM CET on Movistar+, Antena 3, TV3
  • UK at 7:45 PM BST on BT Sport Extra
  • USA at 11:45 AM PT/2:45 PM ET on FOX Soccer Match Pass, ESPN Deportes+ USA, FOX Sports GO, Fox Sports 1 USA, fuboTV, Fox Soccer Plus, ESPN3 USA, WatchESPN, ESPN Deportes USA

*TV broadcast listings courtesy of LiveSoccerTV.com.

MATCH PREVIEW

With the overview above withstanding, Peter Bosz’s men will find solace in their splendid start to the season while relishing the fact that the club is yet to lose at home to Real Madrid having recorded three wins and three draws in their backyard.

Nevertheless, the thought of Borussia Dortmund losing its last three Champions League games may possibly serve as a prelude for better things to come for Spanish capital club going into Tuesday’s matchup. The European champions will most likely draw inspiration from the fact that they unbeaten in their last 28 Champions League group games (W21, D7).

Interestingly, their last defeat at this stage of the competition, a 2:1 loss, was against Borussia Dortmund and it dates as far back as October 2012. Goals from Robert Lewandowski and Marcel Schmelzer did the damage, with Real’s consolation goal coming from Cristiano Ronaldo.

However, a lot has changed since then and the anecdote has the potential to differ considering Real Madrid’s superstar forward will once again be present in the starting XI.
The 32-year-old Portuguese, despite his slow start to life in La Liga, boasts of an impressive goalscoring form in the UEFA Champions League.

The four-time Ballon d’Or winner picked up from where he left off last season by blasting two goals past APOEL Nicosia in his side’s 3:0 victory in the opening group game of this year’s campaign. Moving forward, Die Schwarzgelben is no new side Cristiano Ronaldo is yet to face considering the efficient marksman has scored four times in eight games against them since 2012.

With the upcoming UCL clash being the former Manchester United winger’s 150th appearance in the competition and his 400th in his whole career, there is a high possibility that the iconic number 7 is aiming to commemorate the day by getting on the scoresheet.

His side’s defense, however, would have to deal with the potency of the in-form Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang who already has 12 goals in nine games in all competitions for Dortmund this season.

SHARE
Previous articleBVB vs Real Madrid: What to expect in CR7’s 400th game
Next articleRonaldo a hat-trick away from UCL milestone in Dortmund
Emmanuel is a very vibrant writer from Ghana. Young but not small. Humble but full of hunger to learn and confidence to achieve greater heights in the world of online journalism. Emmanuel is passionate about the Beautiful Game with special love for English giants Manchester United and their former number 7 icon, Cristiano Ronaldo. In his leisure time, he loves writing and reading practically anything; old notes, e-books, articles... you name it! The Accra native and devoted Christian also loves drawing, swimming, watching and playing football both on the field and via FIFA video games. At times, Emmanuel loves to find himself alone at the beach and in nature.

LEAVE A REPLY

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.