UCL final: referee right to rule out Real Madrid’s goal vs Liverpool

0

Yes, Ronaldo was offside. 

Real Madrid fans jumped in euphoria when Karim Benzema knocked in the ball on the rebound from a Cristiano Ronaldo header. However, the celebrations were cut short as the referee ruled out the goal.

Correct decision no matter how painful. It wasn’t the Frenchman that was in an incorrect position when CR7 forced the keeper to make a save. What happened, as shown in the featured image above, is that Cristiano Ronaldo was indeed offside when receiving the ball from midfield in the first place.

The first half of the 2018 UEFA Champions League final turned out to be a clash of injuries and tears as Mohamed Salah then Dani Carvajal sustained heart-breaking injuries. Both players left the pitch with a teary face.

Cristiano Ronaldo, meanwhile, kept his composure and got several touches on the ball, switching flanks to destabilize Liverpool’s defence. The game’s half-time statistics read as follows:

LEAVE A REPLY

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.