Ballon d’Or 2018 rules: Reminder as Cristiano gets 15th straight nomination


For the millionth time, let’s remind fans that the Ballon d’Or is not managed by FIFA since the latter ended their partnership with France Football in 2016.

There used to be the FIFA Ballon d’Or. That award replaced the FIFA Player of the Year prize as the world’s governing body and Ballon d’Or organizers, France Football, collaborated on that. Since 2016, however, the award took back its former name — just “Ballon d’Or”, while FIFA went their way to launch the FIFA Football Awards with the Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year being their version of the Ballon d’Or.

Is FIFA involved in the Ballon d’Or?

Since 2016, no. FIFA have no say on who wins the France Football Ballon d’Or. Whether your favorite player wins it or not, do not blame or praise FIFA for it.

Who nominates the Ballon d’Or shortlist?

Each year, a total of 30 players are rewarded for their work and personality by making the shortlist for the award. It is the editorial staff of that chooses the nominees. For the 2018 Ballon d’Or, Cristiano Ronaldo was selected amid controversies linked to ex-model Kathryn Mayorga accusing him of raping her in Las Vegas in 2009. The French magazine has apparently decided to go with the “innocent until proven guilty” motto despite the outrage of those already labeling him as a rapist on social media.

Who can vote to decide the Ballon d’Or winner?

Unlike the Best FIFA Men’s Player award where votes are equally divided between coaches, captains, and fans, the Ballon d’Or winner is elected through a panel of journalists — one representative per country.

Every voting journalist picks their five deserving players. The first one is allocated 6 points, while the second, third, fourth, and fifth get 4, 3, 2, and 1 point each.

What are the criteria for the Ballon d’Or?

There are three things taken into account when electing the Ballon d’Or winner.

  1. Individual performances and collective achievements
  2. Player’s class (talent and fair-play)
  3. Player’s career
What is the Ballon d’Or 2018 winner announcement date?

It will be known on Monday, December 3, 2018 whether Cristiano Ronaldo will win his sixth Ballon d’Or trophy or not. Until then, the pressure can only keep rising.

Will Cristiano Ronaldo win the Ballon d’Or 2018?

His chances are extremely low looking at the current climate. To begin, the 33-year-old controversially finished only second behind midfielder Luka Modric in the 2018 UEFA Best Player award despite his crucial influence in the 2017/18 UEFA Champions League as the topscorer.

This was followed by another loss, this time in the 2018 Best FIFA Men’s Player award. That defeat — to Modric again — was slightly less controversial on the basis that Luka Modric’s World Cup silver medal weighed more than Cristiano’s World Cup Last 16 elimination with Portugal.

There have been unfounded rumors that Real Madrid boss Florentino Perez was behind Ronaldo’s inability to retain these two aforementioned prizes. Will the Ballon d’Or be the next award to go another player’s way?

It’s a 15th straight Ballon d’Or nomination for the Portuguese captain who was first recognized in 2004…

The Kathryn Mayorga rape saga could ruin Cristiano’s chances. France Football will certainly not want their brand to be associated with the word “rapist”. Hence, the journalists voting for the 2018 Ballon d’Or winner will likely base their decision upon the latest reports from the case.

Meanwhile, French defender Raphael Varane, best young player Kylian Mbappe, and forward Antoine Griezmann engraved their names in history forever as FIFA World Cup champions and appear as serious contenders for the golden award. The voting result of the 2018 Ballon d’Or award will tell a lot about how the media rank and view Ronaldo. This could dent or boost the career of the 33-year-old who’s tackling a fresh challenge in Italy since his surprise departure from Real Madrid, earlier this summer.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.